16.03.2021, 17:24

Vietnam to elect new state president, prime minister, legislature chair during March 31-April 5

Vietnam’s lawmaking National Assembly (NA) is expected to elect the state president, prime minister, and NA chairperson of a new tenure during the upcoming sitting, which will commence in late March.

The 54th session of the NA Standing Committee opened and was chaired by NA Chairwoman Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan in Hanoi on Monday morning and concluded later the same day.

This was the final meeting of the standing committee before the 11th sitting of the NA takes place.

According to NA Secretary General and Chief of the NA Office Nguyen Hanh Phuc, the 11th sitting is scheduled to run from March 24 to April 8.

The first half of the meeting will focus on assessing the performance of the legislature, state president, government, Supreme People's Court, Supreme People's Procuracy, and the State Audit of the current tenure.

The next focus of the sitting will be on personnel work, particularly the election of new top leaders, Phuc continued.

The NA will first dismiss Chairwoman of the National Assembly and Chairwoman of the National Election Council Nguyen Thi Kim Ngan on March 30.

The election of a new NA and National Election Council chair will be carried out later the same day, and the result will be announced on March 31.

On April 1, the legislature will dismiss State President Nguyen Phu Trong and vote for a new state president.

The result of this election will be announced on April 2.

The dismissal of Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc will take place on the same day, and the election of a new premier will be conducted on April 5.

On April 6, NA deputies will elect the new Chief Justice of the Supreme People's Court, head of the Supreme People's Procuracy, some members of the NA Standing Committee, chairs of some NA committees, General State Auditor, and NA Secretary General.

On April 7 and 8, the NA will dismiss incumbent deputy prime ministers and other members of the government, before approving the appointment of government personnel of the new tenure, which will be submitted by the newly-elected prime minister.